Monitoring Education & Teaching (MSL)

Description

The Monitoring Instrument is a reporting tool based on key performance indicators (KPIs) that uses student and study-related data stored in SAP SLcM. The MSL reports contain 22 KPIs that enable conclusions to be drawn about the quality and success of the study programs and ensure that decisions about teaching and curriculum development are evidence-based.

Purpose

The Monitoring Instrument provides information which can be used to improve the quality of study programs in an independent and decentralized process.

Frequency / Timeline

The data for the MSL reports is extracted annually on a set date. Currently, the PDF reports are automatically generated and sent to the user groups. In the future, PDF reports will be replaced by an interactive dashboard allowing individual users to access customized KPIs.

User groups

  • Study program directors and the Offices of Student Affairs receive the set of KPIs. The user groups can then interpret the data and identify measures on this basis.

Synergies

The MSL reports can be used as an information basis for Quality Meetings, as well as for quality statements to be drafted as part of the evaluation or accreditation process. Selected KPIs are also incorporated in the interactive Quality Index (QSL).

KPIs

KPIs are reported from two different data perspectives:

  • New cohort: Number of students and number of admissions by gender, educational and academic background, age of students, progress of study (changes, drop-outs, degrees), incoming/outgoing students
  • Graduates: Transitions between degree levels, number of graduates by gender and educational background, most common combinations of study programs, duration of studies, ECTS credits acquired per semester, final grades

Monitoring Studium & Lehre (MSL)

Beschreibung

Das Monitoring Studium und Lehre ist ein kennzahlenbasiertes Berichtsystem auf Basis der in SAP SLcM eingepflegten studierenden- und studienbezogenen Daten. Die MSL-Berichte beinhalten 22 Kennzahlen, die Rückschlüsse auf Qualität und Erfolg der Studienprogramme zulassen und somit evidenzbasierte Entscheidungen in der Lehr- und Curriculumentwicklung ermöglichen.

Zweck

Das Monitoring Studium und Lehre dient als Informationsgrundlage für eine eigenverantwortliche und dezentral gesteuerte Qualitätsentwicklung der Studienprogramme.

Rhythmus / Zeitplan

Der Datenabzug für die MSL-Berichte erfolgt jährlich zu einem festgelegten Stichtag. Momentan werden die automatisch generierten PDF-Berichte den Nutzergruppen zeitnah zugesandt. Zukünftig soll ein individueller, nutzergerechter Kennzahlenabruf über ein interaktives Dashboard den Versand der MSL-Berichte ablösen.

Nutzergruppen

  • Studienprogrammverantwortliche und Studiendekanate erhalten die Kennzahlensets. Die Dateninterpretation und Massnahmenableitung obliegen den Nutzergruppen.

Synergien

Die MSL-Berichte können als Informationsgrundlage für die Qualitätsgespräche sowie für im Rahmen des Evaluationsprozesses oder der Akkreditierung zu verfassenden Qualitätsstatements genutzt werden. Ausgewählte Kennzahlen fliessen zudem in den interaktiven Qualitätsindex Studium und Lehre (QSL) ein.

Kennzahlen

Es werden Kennzahlen aus zwei unterschiedlichen Datenperspektiven berichtet:

  • Anfängerkohorten: Anzahl Studierende und Anzahl Eintritte nach Geschlecht, Bildungsherkunft und akademische Herkunft, Alter der Studierenden, Studienverläufe (Wechsel, Abbrüche, Abschlüsse), Incoming-/Outgoing-Studierende
  • Absolventenkohorten: Stufenübertritte, Anzahl Absolventen nach Geschlecht und Bildungsherkunft, häufigste Studienprogrammkombinationen, Studiendauer, Erworbene ECTS Credits je Semester, Abschlussnoten